Community First News & Updates

Community First AGM and Awards Celebration 2023

by | Oct 12, 2023 | News

The Community First Annual General Meeting (AGM) and Awards Celebration took place on Wednesday 11th October 2023 at Devizes Town Hall. The Community First awards recognise and celebrate the exceptional contribution made by groups and individuals across Wiltshire and Swindon. Thank you to everyone who attended the event including our staff, trustees, members, volunteers and award winners.

Community First Celebration Video

Each year at our AGM, Community First creates a short film highlighting the work our teams have carried out over the previous 12 months. The Community First annual celebration video can be viewed below. This short film is based on the Community First Annual Review 2022-2023 which you can also read and download as a PDF file.

Community First Award Winners 2023

It is always an honour to recognise the contribution made by the many outstanding groups, organisations, volunteers and young people who give so much of their time and enthusiasm to support the work of Community First and our programmes and services, Youth Action Wiltshire, outdoor education, the Building Bridges Programme and Community Development.

Congratulations to all of our winners for their well-deserved awards, many thanks also to Community First President Sarah Troughton for presenting each of our winners with a trophy and certificate. A full list of winners can be found below.

Full List of Award Winners

The Micheal Jones Award for Inspirational Link Scheme or Community Minibus Volunteer
Janice Vincent (Malmesbury Link Scheme)

Community Project Funded through the Landfill Communities Fund
Roger Baker (Ashbury Village Hall)

The Martin Hamer in Special Recognition Award
Alan Fox

Most Innovative Community Run Project or Service
Darry New (Community Bus, Haydon Wick)

Robbie’s Endeavour Trophy
Winterslow Youth Club

Young Carers Achievement Award – Under 12 years

Young Carers Achievement Award – Over 12 years

Project Inspire Achievement Award

Splash Achievement Award

Splash Volunteer Award
John Wyeth

Community First Young Leader’s Achievement Award

Building Bridges Outstanding Achievement Award
Dorcas Obeney

The Arthur Laflin Volunteer Award
Jacquie Henly (Hilmarton Parish Council)

Please see below for a selection of photographs of our award winners.

Photo credit: Ben Jarvis.

2023 Winner - Janice Vincent

Janice Vincent (The Michael Jones Award)

2023 Winner - Roger Baker

Roger Baker (Community Project Funded through the Landfill Communities Fund)

Alan Fox

Alan Fox (The Martin Hamer In Special Recognition Award)

2023 Winner - Charlie

Charlie (Young Carers Achievement Award – Under 12)

2023 Winner - Hannah

Hannah (Young Carers Achievement Award – Over 12)


Sam (Splash Achievement Award)

2023 Winner - John Wyeth

John Wyeth (Splash Volunteer Award)

2023 Winner - Will

Will (Community First Young Leaders Achievement Award)

2023 Winner - Haydon Wick Community Bus

Haydon Wick Community Bus (Most Innovative Community Run Project or Service)

Winners 2023 Group Photo

Community First award winners 2023 group photo

Stay up to date

Stay up to date

I'd like to stay up to date with all of the latest news from Community First including fundraising activities, fundraising events and updates from across the whole organisation.

You have Successfully Subscribed!