Community First News & Updates

Community First AGM & Awards Celebration 2022

by | Oct 13, 2022 | News

Community First held its AGM and Awards Celebration at the Town Hall, Devizes on 12th October 2022. The was the first ‘in-person’ AGM and awards ceremony held since 2019 due to Covid-19. The Community First awards recognise and celebrate the exceptional contribution made by groups and individuals across Wiltshire and Swindon. Thank you to all of our guests who attended the event including our staff, trustees, members, volunteers and award winners.

Community First Celebration Video

Each year at the AGM, we showcase a short film which highlights the amazing work our teams have carried out over the last 12 months. This year is no exception and we are delighted to share our Community First Celebration Video for 2022 which you can view below:

Community First Award Celebration Winners 2022

It is always an honour to recognise the contribution made by the many outstanding groups, organisations, volunteers and young people who give so much of their time and enthusiasm to support the work of Community First and our programmes and services including Youth Action Wiltshire, the Building Bridges Programme and Community Development.

Congratulations to all of our winners for their well-deserved awards, many thanks also to Community First President Sarah Troughton for presenting each of our winners with a trophy and certificate. A full list of winners can be found below.

Full List of Award Winners

The Michael Jones Award for Inspirational Link Scheme or Community Minibus Volunteer
Hilary and Babs Light

The Martin Hamer In Special Recognition Award

Most Innovative Community Run Project or Service Award
John Griffin – Borehole Project (Bradford on Avon Bowls Club)

Project Inspire Achievement Award

Splash Achievement Award

Splash Volunteer Award

Young Carers Achievement Award – Under 12 years

Young Carers Achievement Award – Over 12 years

Community First – Young Leaders Achievement Award

Community Project funded through the Landfill Communities Fund programme (or individual who has made it happen)
Maggie Banda

Robbie’s Endeavour Trophy
Linda Poultney

Local Council Community Project Award
Memory Cafe (Haydon Wick Parish Council)

The Arthur Laflin Volunteer Award
Ron Snook

Please see below for a selection of photographs of our award winners. Photo credit: Ben Jarvis.

Hilary and Babs Light (The Michael Jones Award)

Amelia (The Martin Hamer In Special Recognition Award)

John Griffin (Most Innovative Community Run Project or Service Award) Award collected on John’s behalf.

Jake (Project Inspire Achievement Award)

Megan (Splash Achievement Award)

Imo (Splash Volunteer Award)

Oliver (right) receives a young carers achievement award from Mrs Sarah Troughton (left) HM Lord-Lieutenant of Wiltshire and President of Community First at the Community First AGM and Awards Celebration in October 2022.

Oliver (Young Carers Achievement Award – Under 12 Years)

Katie (Young Carers Achievement Award – Over 12 Years)

Natasha (Community First Young Leaders Achievement Award)

Maggie Banda (Community Project funded through the Landfill Communities Fund programme (or individual who has made it happen)

Linda Poultney (Robbie’s Endeavour Trophy)

Memory Cafe – Haydon Wick Parish Council (Local Council Community Project Award)

Ron Snook (The Arthur Laflin Volunteer Award) Award collected on Ron’s behalf.

Community First Award Winners 2022

Community First Award winners 2022 group photo

Support Us

Support our work and your local community


Become a member and get regular updates including funding news.

Contact Us

Contact details for the Community First team.

Stay up to date

Stay up to date

I'd like to stay up to date with all of the latest news from Community First including fundraising activities, fundraising events and updates from across the whole organisation.

You have Successfully Subscribed!